Tag Archives: Sword and Sorcery

Pulp Crazy – Marchers of Valhalla by Robert E. Howard

http://pulpcrazy.com/podcast/097.mp3

In this weeks episode Pulp Crazy is continuing the celebration of Robert E. Howard’s birth month with a short story not published in Howard’s lifetime. The story is titled, “Marchers of Valhalla” and is a part of his James Allison series, which are reincarnation tales.

This story was first published in 1972 by Donald M. Grant. I had the pleasure of reading it in the newest publication from the Robert E. Howard Foundation, titled “Swords of the North”, which collects Howard’s Viking and Celtic stories, drafts and fragments.

Marchers of Valhalla was able to be completed thanks to combining multiple drafts by Howard together, into one coherent story. I have to say, I’ve read a decent amount of Robert E. Howard, including all of his Solomon Kane tales, Kull stories, his Dark Agnes tales, all but the final two Conan stories, and a fair amount of his stand alone Weird Fiction. I would rank Marchers of Valhalla as one of my favorites.

Links:

Swords of the North at the Robert E. Howard Foundation: http://www.rehfoundation.org/2014/11/05/swords-of-the-north/

Marchers of Valhalla Discussion at the Robert E. Howard Forums: http://www.conan.com/invboard/index.php?showtopic=5423

Hyborian Age America Discussion at the Robert E. Howard Forums: http://www.conan.com/invboard/index.php?showtopic=8902&page=1

Swords of the North Discussion Thread: http://www.conan.com/invboard/index.php?showtopic=10938

Hyborian Age Map: http://www.oocities.org/gmredux/hyboria/images/hyboria_bw.gif

Marchers of Valhalla at ISFDB: http://www.isfdb.org/cgi-bin/title.cgi?63590

Pulp Crazy – Bigfoot Sword of the Earthman

 

 

http://pulpcrazy.com/podcast/079.mp3

 

In this weeks episode I will be discussing Bigfoot Sword of the Earthman, a six issue comic book mini series published by BrewHouse Comics. The comic is written by Josh S. Henaman with line art by Andy Taylor and colors by Thomas Bonvillain. The first issue came out in November 2012 and the sixth issue was recently published in August 2014. This is a sword and planet as well as a sword and sorcery comic. It’s very much in the vein of Edgar Rice Burroughs and Robert E. Howard. One of the tag lines I saw floating around in the promotional materials was Sword, Sorcery and Sasquatch.

 

The premise of the book is that a group of mages on Mars summoned Bigfoot to the Red Planet from Earth. The mute brute is enslaved at first, but later escapes. His tag-along/partner is Castor, a member of the scribe caste elite. They seem to be the bards and storytellers of Mars. He sees Bigfoot, (who is known only as the Earthman among the inhabiatants of Mars), as his meal ticket. However things don’t go according to plan, Mars is ruled by a heavy handed tyrant named Lord Jeoffa. Doing Lord Jeoffa’s dirty work is my favorite character of the series, Korovan Muspin, a red skinned reptilian barbarian who is more than a physical match with the Earthman. There is a really cool four page origin story for Muspin in the final four pages of issue #1, that puts a unique spin on what goes on in a Martian Rookery.

 

Links:

Brewhouse Comics Online Store: http://brewhousecomics.storenvy.com/

Stores that carry Bigfoot Sword of the Earthman: http://www.bigfootcomic.blogspot.com/p/s.html

Bigfoot Sword of the Earthman Site: http://www.bigfootcomic.blogspot.com/

Cast of Characters: http://www.bigfootcomic.blogspot.com/p/bigfoot-sote-cast-of-characters.html

Bigfoot Sword of the Earthman Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/BigfootSwordoftheEarthman

Josh S. Henaman Twitter: https://twitter.com/JoshSHenaman

Andy Taylor Twitter: https://twitter.com/AndyETaylor

Tamra Bonvillain: https://twitter.com/TBonvillain